• instagram
Enquiries (02) 8004 3472

Met Concert #1

String Fantasy

Program:Kats-Chernin Fast Blue Village 2 *Premiere

BIZET arr THOMPSON Carmen Fantasy For Flute And Strings

STANHOPE Morning Star

HAMERIK Symphony No 6
Conductor: Sarah-Grace Williams
Soloists: Svetlana Yaroslavskaya
Event Date: Sat 20 February 7 pm
Venue: Petersham Town Hall

The Metropolitan Orchestra (TMO) starts its magnificent twelfth concert season after a dramatic Covid affected 2020 with a unique and enthralling season to be delivered from character-filled local venues.  Led by Chief Conductor Sarah-Grace Williams and featuring TMO’s string section, the first concert of the year includes two Australian works along with two fabulous international composers. The season commences with a premiere from acclaimed Australian composer Elena Kats-Chernin who has created a new arrangement of Fast Blue Village 2 specifically for this ensemble.  Following this amazing work is the Carmen Fantasy for Flute and Strings by Bizet which has been arranged by Brett Thompson and will feature TMO Principal Flute, Svetlana Yasroslavskaya. Paul Stanhope’s Morning Star and Asger Hamerik’s Symphony Number 6 will complete this showcase evening to kick off TMO’s exciting 2021 season. 


Related Concerts