Enquiries (02) 8004 3472

Met Concerts


Presented by Cruiseco, concerts in the Met Concert series are performed in either the Eugene Goossens Hall, ABC Centre or Sydney Congress Hall.

Utilising the full orchestra, this series presents inviting and exciting programs featuring leading Australian soloists and composers.

Click on the BUY TICKETS button on the right hand side to go to our ticketing area or SELECT YOUR CONCERT BELOW.

2017 Met Concert Series - Masterworks

Met Concert 1

SIBELIUS Violin Concerto
BRAHMS Symphony #1

Conductor: Sarah-Grace Williams

Soloist: Anna Da Silva Chen

8pm Saturday 4 March Eugene Goossens Hall, ABC Centre

TMO Return with Legendary Masterworks In their first Met Concert for 2017, The Metropolitan Orchestra (TMO) under the baton of Artistic Director and Chief Conductor Sarah-Grace Williams will start the year with a magnificent program of genuine masterworks from Sibelius and Brahms.

TMO welcomes back young Australian virtuoso violinist Anna Da Silva Chen as soloist for Sibelius’ beautiful Violin Concerto. The only ever concerto written by Sibelius, this work is highly regarded not only for its technical difficulty, but also for its virtuosic style being both masterly and exhilarating.

“What an amazing way to start our ninth performance season with such celebrated works from both Sibelius and Brahms. We’re thrilled to again feature the passion and energy of the wonderful Anna Da Silva Chen for the Sibelius’ Violin Concerto. Anna is a huge favourite with TMO sharing a wonderful chemistry and connection with both the audience and musicians. When coupled with the magnificent Brahms First Symphony, we are honoured to be able to present a truly grand program that will kick off our 2017 season in a night to remember,’ said Sarah-Grace Williams.

The second half of this evening of true masterworks features the legendarily timeless work of Brahms’ First Symphony. Almost 20 years in the making, the first Symphony is a tour de force regarded as one of the greatest symphonies ever written highlighting passionate contrasts from the explosively forceful and dramatic, through to gentle meanderings in what can only be regarded as a magnificent musical journey.



2017 Met Concert Series - From Russia with Love

Met Concert 2

GLINKA Ruslan and Ludmilla Overture  
RACHMANINOFF Piano Concerto #2  
COYLE The Bright Seraphim* World Premiere
SHOSTAKOVICH           Symphony #9  

Conductor: Sarah-Grace Williams

Piano: Benjamin Kopp

*Trumpet: Anthony Heinrichs

8pm Saturday 6 May Eugene Goossens Hall, ABC Centre

The Metropolitan Orchestra’s second Met Concert for 2017 on May 6th will enjoy a distinctly Russian flavour with the bonus of two Australian soloists and a World Premiere performance.

The program will open with the rollicking overture for Ruslan and Ludmilla by Mikhail Glinka followed by one of the greatest Piano Concertos of all time, Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto Number 2. The epic concerto sees the welcome return of Australian Pianist Benjamin Kopp. Benjamin has performed as soloist with the Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide and Western Australian Symphony Orchestras and join’s TMO for the second time for this masterful performance.

“Ben performed in an all-Russian program with TMO in 2016 and quickly became an audience favourite.  His detailed interpretation and extraordinary understanding of the emotion needed for Russian work will guarantee something absolutely extraordinary.  We are so very excited to be working with this fine Australian pianist once more,’ said Sarah-Grace Williams, TMO’s Artistic Director and Chief Conductor.

The second half of the performance will begin with the world premiere performance of The Bright Seraphim from Australian Composer Jim Coyle and featuring Sydney Symphony Orchestra Trumpet Anthony Heinrichs as soloist on Piccolo Trumpet.  “Being able to offer a platform for new Australian Music to be heard is fundamental to TMO’s philosophy of supporting our sensational home-grown musical talent. Having Anthony perform this World Premiere work for the first time will be a truly fantastic experience for our audience which I’m sure they’ll treasure for years to come,” said Sarah-Grace.

Finalising the program will be Shostakovich’s delightful Ninth Symphony.  Often referred to as his ‘Classical’ symphony, the work is considerably shorter in length than many of his other symphonies with a much lighter and joyous mood. An ideal upbeat way to finish this unique evening of performance.


2017 Met Concert Series - Sumptuous Strings

Met Concert 3 darker

BARBER Adagio for Strings  
HOLST St. Paul’s Suite  
PIAZZOLLA Double Concerto arr: Duo Histoire   World Premiere
GRIEG        Holberg Suite  
MENDELSSOHN   String Symphony #10

Conductor: Sarah-Grace Williams

Soloists: Duo Histoire (Nicholas Russoniello, Saxophone & Murilo Tanouye, Guitar)

8pm Saturday 15 July Sydney Congress Hall

Originally written for bandoneon and guitar, Piazzolla’s Double Concerto has been re-arranged for saxophone and guitar in this unique world premiere event.  Alongside sensational string compositions from Barber, Holst, Grieg and Mendelssohn, this concert of audience favourites will be TMO’s first within the warm surrounds of the Sydney Congress Hall.




2017 Met Concert Series - Extraordinary Firsts

Met Concert 4

UBRIHIEN Mestizo Suite  World Premiere
MAHLER Symphony #1  

Conductor: Sarah-Grace Williams

8pm Saturday 16 September Eugene Goossens Hall

Gustav Mahler’s outstanding first symphony cannot fail to stir the soul and leave one with a determined sense that the human spirit can triumph over anguish and loneliness. In a work which was considered crazily ambitious for its time, this magnificent symphony changed the genre forever. Opening with one of the most spellbinding moments of symphonic inspiration from the 19th century, this performance presented without interval will be a true journey of emotion and imagination.

This exhilarating evening of extraordinary firsts will also introduce Australian composer Nigel Ubrihien, one of the brilliant finalists from TMO’s inaugural Composer Development Program (2016), with the world premiere performance of his Mestizo Suite.


2017 Met Concert Series - New Beginnings

Met Concert 5

SHANNON Sequence and Variation  World Premiere
RODRIGO Guitar Concerto  
BEETHOVEN Symphony #3 ‘Eroica’  

Conductor: Sarah-Grace Williams

Guitar: Giuseppe Zangari

8pm Saturday 25 November Sydney Congress Hall

Rodrigo’s best-known work established his reputation as one of the most significant Spanish composers of the twentieth century.  Australian soloist Giuseppe Zangari joins TMO for the first time in this magnificent guitar concerto.  A world premiere performance of Shannon’s Sequence and Variation exposes a second finalist from TMO’s inaugural Composer Development Program (2016) in another new beginning. Beethoven’s third Symphony is often considered a turning point in the history of music and a change in Beethoven’s career, what more fitting way to bring TMO’s ninth season to a triumphant end.



Event Calender

Event Calendar

<< Apr 2017 >>
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

The Metropolitan Orchestra